Hard work pays off??

April 12, 2014 § 4 Comments

A big motto in our house is “hardwork pays off.” We actually say this often.

What about when it doesn’t? What about when your kid goes to school and works hard everyday but none of that is reflected in her report card? My daughter works as hard as other kids. Sometimes harder! But when it’s report card time she gets a report card full of 1s (4 is the highest grade) because she is in special education. I have NEVER been able to share my daughters report card with her. I have never been able to put it on the fridge and feel proud by the hard work represented, instead I quickly stash it away in hopes that she will never see it or ask for an explanation. It effects my son as well. I hide his report card too. I praise him privately but I never want to rub it in her face.

When I’ve discussed this with the school their response is “Well Mrs Gallagher, the progress note from special education is her report card.” OMG – equal treatment ? NO! This is a case of different treatment.

There has got to be a better way!

I know not all towns are like mine. I know that at the school I work at report cards are carefully crafted with long narratives as well as numerical grades for each child. I like that!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Hard work pays off??

  • Olive says:

    There is one thing I am proud to say my daughters report cards were always positive. She is graded on what she can do and her abilities. Always lots of praise from her teachers. She is not doing the regular material either so that is the difference. I’m sorry to hear of your situation. Chin up. If there is a way you will find it. 🙂

  • Successful Exceptional Education (SEE) says:

    Next year is the middle school…it will no longer be a problem. She will get a report card based on HER performance not based on the curriculum.

  • Olive Davis says:

    That is great! It makes all the difference to her self esteem and to you and your family as a whole unit because you have one less thing on your plate to worry about. 👍

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hard work pays off?? at successful exceptional education.

meta

