Anything for the kids ….no matter what!

April 12, 2014 § 4 Comments

Recently my school had a lock down that was real. There was a period of about 30 minutes that I had children with me but had no idea what was happening. During this time I was afraid. I had no idea what was lurking outside my office. In those 30 minutes I had to psych myself up to be mentally prepared to protect my students from whatever or whomever it was. I had to mentally prepare myself to give up my life for theirs. I knew in the moment that I would do that, no doubts! I also had the thought cross my mind that “I don’t get paid enough for this.”

I was relieved to find out there was no immediate danger. Thank God for cell phones! The next 3 hours were long, boring and still a little scary at times but I made it the best I could for my students, fed them my lunch, watched movies on the iPad (with almost no volume) and hugged them when they got nervous. I love my students.

Parents – love the teachers, most of us will do anything we can to keep your kids happy and safe and we won’t think twice about the personal cost.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Anything for the kids ….no matter what!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Anything for the kids ….no matter what! at successful exceptional education.

meta

