Indulgent

March 22, 2014 § 1 Comment

Today I was indulgent in every way. I ordered out for lunch at work which is very rare. I went to a fantastic TRX class and laughed so hard with some great women. Then, I ate bread and pasta, lots of it! I also sat for 3 hours just talking.

I sat with a friend who has a child much like mine. We were able to indulge ourselves having conversations about what it’s like to be a special needs parent.

It was so relaxed to be with another person who gets the day in, day out struggles and the small victories.

It was so fun to discuss everything from the “dreaded school phone call” to the use of Emla cream and what it’s like to be on first name basis with the nurses at various doctor’s offices.

I urge parents to find a friend like this and enjoy this indulgence. It was better than any glass of wine, piece of chocolate or massage I could get. There is something about sharing this special path with others, our souls connect in a unique way, without judgement and with a lot of admiration for one another.

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Indulgent

  • Olive says:

    This happens so rarely for me it is like quenching a thirst or feeding my soul. I have met three other mothers who have a child with WS. It is exactly as you say. We have met at the provinces children’s hospital which we visit for a two week stay every year. Last year was the last year for that. Who knows what the future holds.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Indulgent at successful exceptional education.

meta

