Love

March 9, 2014 § 2 Comments

The teachers who were the best for my daughter, meaning the ones where she felt the happiest and in turn had the most success academically, were the ones who clearly loved her. They are the teachers who allowed themselves to succumb to her magic and truly enjoy her presence.

Warmth is a quality that can not be taught or practiced. It is a quality in a teacher that I think is essential, unfortunately not always easy to find.
I think that when teachers teach with their heart they can’t help but to exude warmth. When a teacher is warm and kind students are more naturally open to learn. I am not saying that warmth should replace rigor or discipline but rather that it should be part of it.

I often want to use the word “love” when discussing my students because the truth is I do love them. I get to know each one and I enjoy them for who they are. I try to move forward with my heart each day and I try to make sure that they feel cared about when they are with me. This aides in building our relationship and helps them become successful. When kids feel safe and happy they learn with more ease and less stress.

Teachers- it is important for your students to know how much you care about them. It’s ok for you to tell them that you care about them and to let them understand that is why you are working so diligently with them. Tell them you want to see them succeed but only if you mean it, otherwise they will see through the lie. Build your relationship with them, don’t worry so much about being “in control or being the boss” instead worry about being open, honest and warm. Most of all remember to smile! Far too often I see teachers who get caught up in the stress of the job and they forget to smile – children need you to smile, it invites them to do the same.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Love

  • Olive davis says:

    I have seen proof of this with my daughter. You have so much to offer. Looking forward to the next post.

  • Olive davis says:

    Michelle if you ever decide to write a book on successful exceptional education let me know. I will be first in line to get it. No kidding. I can’t help wondering if all parents feel the way I do when reading your posts. You are writing my experiences…pretty much. I’m so happy to know someone knows what it is like….you of course are that someone. Thank you for sharing it all.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Love at successful exceptional education.

meta

