Accountability, faith and trust

February 13, 2014 § 1 Comment

Huge topic tonight! Massive! How do we hold schools and teachers accountable to really implement IEPs ? After all, these are the people who in the end influence our decision making about our child’s future. How do we keep faith that the day to day accommodations outlined in IEPs are actually happening? How do we know that the progress reported on is truly measured and not just an idea of how a teacher or therapist “feels” our child is doing? How does the likability of our child play into what they are writing? SCARY STUFF!

Bottom line for me is data! Hard cold numbers! I can’t tell you the number of times I have sat in IEP meetings for my daughter and said “show me the data that supports this decision.” And when I say this they are always shocked and they are almost never able to prove/support their stance!

My educational teaching roots are from what used to be the New England Center for Autism. It is now called the New England Center for Children. It was there through this data driven , ABA based job that I learned about data and it’s importance.

I believe in data and I am a crazy lady in my teaching and reporting about giving parents accurate numbers. It is my job to be accountable for what their child is learning while working on the benchmarks written for them. I believe all teachers should always have tangible data to measure.

Beyond this I also believe that we must trust our teachers and have faith that they are doing the right thing for our children. I guess it’s like having faith in humanity. I have to trust that most teachers are inherently good people with good intentions.

But when push comes to shove and decisions need to be made – SHOW ME THE NUMBERS!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Accountability, faith and trust

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Accountability, faith and trust at successful exceptional education.

meta

