Why?

February 11, 2014 § 5 Comments

Why? Why this blog? I was advised by a friend to “just do it” and to “develop my voice”. I was hoping I would be able to narrow it down for myself and it has become crystal clear for me. It was always clear I just had to trust the voice inside my heart.

My purpose is to support other parents and teachers. To let them hear a voice that they may not always be able to express for themselves. I want to help guide families new to special education and show them the ropes. I want to help people understand what IEPs and testing are all about. I want to be there to “hold the hand” of those other moms in special education who feel alone, lost and confused. I want to help them learn to see their child’s strengths even though the rest of the world is focusing on their weakness. I want to help!

I want to share the double sided perspective I have of being an experienced special education teacher and an experienced special needs mom!

I want to offer insight to teachers who may not see the whole picture clearly.
I want to help!

I am not saying I have all the answers – not by a long shot! I am saying I live special education all day, everyday in every facet of my life and the knowledge, both emotional and factual, I’ve obtained and practiced is worth sharing!

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 5 Responses to Why?

  • Olive davis says:

    Everything you write is what I have lived and felt. Thank you. It is so refreshing to know I am not the only one who shares those experiences and feelings.

    • Successful Exceptional Education (SEE) says:

      Hello Olive
      I am glad you feel connected! I walk both sides of the fence as a spec educator and spec needs mom – I am constantly trying sort through this stuff from one perspective or another – how did you find my blog? Are u a WS mom?

      • olive davis says:

        Through a friend on WS support group. It seems you are writing our life experiences with the school and education system. I am happy to know there is someone who can put it all in perspective and write it just as it is. I think you can make a huge difference to how the world sees us and our families .. from both sides. I am a WS mom. My daughter is 21 and is doing her last year in school.
        Keep up the good work and God bless you and your family.

  • olive davis says:

    This is the first time on a blog for me. lol You learn something new every day.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why? at successful exceptional education.

meta

