Rant? Sorry!

February 10, 2014 § 4 Comments

I am wondering if this will end up sounding like a rant and if it does and it turns you off then stop reading.

I guess what I want to say mostly is how amazing special need moms are but even more so those with medically involved kids. My daughter is only mildly medically involved but it feels endless. I spend my spear time schedule appointments and writing to physicians to plan medical care. So when I’m dealing with major medical problems and teachers call to complain without solutions about the fact that my girl has been snarky it makes me want to scream!

It is so frustrating because teachers don’t always respect what these kids go through. They don’t think about what the day to day life of the child at home is like or what it’s like for these kids to spend countless days at various appointments or therapies.

I can’t imagine on some days what it’s like for kids like my daughter who seems to be at a hospital for appointments several times a month . She worries about these appointments which often deliver bad news or shots or endless poking and prodding. But then she has to spend the hours before or after at school being given a thousand prompts by a host of different teachers and they wonder why she’s cranky?!? Wouldn’t you be?

I guess what I’m saying to teachers is give students some slack once in a while and consider what else they are going through. Please always hold them to high standards but remember to be flexible.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Rant? Sorry!

  • Jody Regan says:

    Michelle, I will carry your non-rant, sage advice with me into the classroom today. Thank you.

  • Janet says:

    Michelle, I totally agree. I always worry about the days after too because with Connor it always takes a few days to get back into a routine.

  • Joan says:

    Hi Michelle,

    You know I agree. I have a homeless student right now who wants to quit school to take care of his mom. His teachers complain to me that he misses school. I would too. I have a personal connections well. I did not receive credits for a course once because I missed a day. I asked how I could make it up. The teacher refused. It didn’t matter to her that I got chemo an d radiation that day. Her rule was her rule. Teachers need to know what goes on in the lives of their students. They may just find a person who wants to learn.

  • Teresa says:

    This one hits home. I can’t believe I never figured this out. We often get reports on “bad behavior” and Clare goes through so much medically, that I often ignore it unless I feel it truly warrants to be addressed. I am tired of hearing “Clare stuck her tongue out at another student.” Now I have another talking point for our next IEP meeting!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rant? Sorry! at successful exceptional education.

meta

