Educating with my heart

February 5, 2014 § 3 Comments

I have been a special education teacher for over 20 years. I do not think there is a facet of education I have yet to cover. I have also been special education mother for 10 years. I have always worked leading with my heart. I have always fallen in love with my students and their families. Ten years ago when my daughter was diagnosed with Williams Syndrome (a rare genetic disorder) my work became even more meaningful as I began to navigate the special education world sitting on the opposite side of the table – again moving forward with my heart in a much deeper way. Since this time, I have been able to connect to the parents that I work with on a deeper level. There are conversations and emotions that are more easily understood only by other special education parents. These conversations are emotional and driven by pain, pride, confusion and hope! These conversations at their source have the need for parents to have the world SEE their child and the beauty in their imperfection. I want to help the world SEE children for the beauty in their exceptionalism.

Tagged:

§ 3 Responses to Educating with my heart

  • Janet says:

    That is amazing Michele! You are an unbelieve teach and mom.

  • Olive davis says:

    You are brilliant! You will help so many with your insight and experience as a teacher and a special mom.

  • Olive davis says:

    My daughter is doing her last year of school I can relate to everything you write, but could never make it so clear in writing. And now I know that everything we went through was real and I am not crazy for how I felt. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Educating with my heart at successful exceptional education.

meta

